Skip to main content

Incoming Senate Majority Leader Elected

November 10, 2022

Following Tuesday’s general election where the Democratic Party flipped control of the Senate, the caucuses elected their leadership teams for the upcoming term, beginning in January 2023.

Senator Winnie Brinks (D-Grand Rapids) will serve as Senate Majority Leader. Serving alongside her for the Democratic Caucus will be Senator-elect Sam Singh (D-East Lansing), who previously served as House Democratic Leader. Additional members of their leadership team will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Republican caucus announced Senator Aric Nesbitt (R-Lawton) will serve as the Minority Leader. Additional members include:

  • Minority Floor Leader – Senator Dan Lauwers (R-Brockway)
  • Minority Whip – Senator Roger Victory (R-Hudsonville)
  • Caucus Chair – Senator Kevin Daley (R-Lum)
  • Assistant Minority Leader – Senator Rick Outman (R-Six Lakes)
  • Assistant Minority Floor Leader – Senator Lana Theis (R-Brighton)
  • Assistant Minority Whip – Senator Mark Huizenga (R-Walker)
  • Assistant Caucus Chair – Senator Jim Runestad (R-White Lake)
  • Associate President Pro-Tem – Senator-elect Joe Bellino (R-Monroe) (He was nominated for this position and will be elected by the entire body)

The House is slated to hold their caucus leadership elections at 3 p.m., including Speaker of the House. MLC will send an update after that takes place.

*Source: Michigan Legislative Consultants